Food options for the single guy

by guyintheblue

When I paid a visit to my family the other week I stopped off to see my grandparents. The two have been married for almost 60 years, and have the stereotypical husband wife relationship that you see in films from the sixties. When I greeted my grandma she congratulated me on keeping myself looking so well, despite not having a woman to ‘look after me’.

Single guy foods

My grandma meant this. In her mind the role of a woman is to take care of her husband. As endearing as I find her comments it got me to thinking about how my life would be different if I were in a relationship; what would I eat, how would I dress, what would I say differently.

Now it’s not that I have never been in a relationship, I just haven’t been in one that you see in the films, the ones where people cry and say things like: “I’m scared of walking out of this room and never feeling the rest of my whole life the way I feel when I’m with you”, “Look at me! I’ve loved you more than I’ve ever loved any woman and I’ve waited for you longer than I’ve ever waited for any woman” (bonus point if you can guess the movie titles).

The main thing that would change would be my eating habits. I currently eat whatever I like, and it is pretty mundane and at times obscure. I’ll speak to people at work who have shared a delicious meal for two and it consists of more than one of your five a day, sloshed down with a glass of wine. For me I tend to stick to steak. When it’s not steak then it’s whatever takes the least amount of time to prepare.

Here are my top four single guy foods:

Toast: This is the Holy Grail of foodstuffs. Not only can it be savoury, but with the addition of jam it turns into a dessert. Easily prepared at anytime of the day and complimented by sweet tea, could you want for anything more?

Cereals: Anything that can sit in a box for weeks and still taste great with the addition of a liquid deserves five stars. Not only is it acceptable to eat for either your breakfast or lunch, the whole promotion of ‘wholegrain’ makes you feel great.

Beans: As with cereal, these are a staple food for a single guy. The longevity means that they can be kept for weeks, and their versatility is second to none. Eaten hot or cold, on their own or as a meal, they are also considered one of your five a day.

Steak: I have already mentioned steak, but seriously even if I were in a relationship I doubt I could ever stop eating this as much as I do. For me the sirloin cut is the best and when cooked for a matter of seconds, the ruby red centre of a lightly seasoned outer makes for a top meal, especially when accompanied with salad (yes, salad).

The list may seem rather depressing and obvious, but it is true. When I was in a relationship I would eat these foods, but not with the frequency that I do now. I do appreciate there are single guys in the world that don’t eat like a student, but I am not one of them.

A recent study of over 14,000 Americans discovered that men and women have a completely different relationship with food. Another that surveyed participants in over 23 countries found that women will pick over the salad options, where as men will dive straight for the meat.

Whether this has to do with the gender perceptions of various foods, or the fierce advertising that promotes healthy eating with femininity, who knows. I would like to think that I was able to make the correct dietary food choices without the need of a girlfriend, but it looks like that won’t happen.

So, back to the dating scene. That sounds like a good blog topic, wonder if I should invite them out for a steak?

